My views

All topics, except for ones related to water fights. Posts made here do not count towards your post count.
Freakymist

Post by Freakymist » Sun Sep 07, 2003 1:38 pm

not trying to stir up trouble doom but I have to do this:

I have very strong views about profanity, Here in America (well for the american members here) we are suppose to have freedom of speech. Yet everyday we censor our selves by not saying certain words. I know some words like (I'm going to by pass the word filter just in the post for my examples)
n-I-g-e-r can really offend someone but I don't think it should be a taboo. Basically what I am saying is that I believe in COMPLETE freedom of speech. And I'm against the idea of a word filter! (notice when I was an admin there was no word filter).

<_<

SSCBen

Post by SSCBen » Sun Sep 07, 2003 2:02 pm

The word filter is only there because some people abused their right by cursing every other word. This forum is mostly for people under 18, and some people parents my not want their children seeing those words. I personally wouldn't care about the word filter. if people didn't abuse it. You could just use similar words and I wouldn't care. Like instead of saying d*a*m*n you could say darn.

Freakymist

Post by Freakymist » Sun Sep 07, 2003 2:06 pm

you just proved my point exactly some parents want to censor thier children! Now I understand this is a forum for kids so parents could get pretty pissed. But this does not change my views at all -_-

SSCBen

Post by SSCBen » Sun Sep 07, 2003 2:15 pm