High Pressure Water Gun That Shoots Paint!

General water gun discussion.
SuperSoaker1000

High Pressure Water Gun That Shoots Paint!

Post by SuperSoaker1000 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:08 pm

Hi Guys and Girls!

I am trying build a water gun that shoots diluted paint. I am relatively new to this and would really appreciate your input on how I can best do this. Here are the specs I'm looking for:

Projection of 20-30 feet
Two tanks holding one color of diluted paint each.
Tank liquid and air pressure lasting at least 3 minutes of constant spray

Thanks so much! I'm very excited about the project and can't wait to build this thing!

Edward

zeda.beta

Re: High Pressure Water Gun That Shoots Paint!

Post by zeda.beta » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:13 pm

What I'm envisioning is almost as if you built two guns, but grafted them together right before the nozzle area. Each should have a separate one way valve, and separate pumps joined together with wood or plastic or the like. I'll start on a drawing, but somebody else might have a better idea.
I reject your reality and substitute my own.
Quack damn you.

SuperSoaker1000

Post by SuperSoaker1000 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:59 pm

That would be awesome! Thanks so much for your reply. I'm thinking of doing a backpack composed of the various tanks so you can hold all the weight on your back and then a shooter (barrel) that you hold and aim with......

I think two of everything is a good idea. To get the specs I listed, what components would you recommend? (size/type of air tank, psi, tubing, valve type...)

Thanks!

Edward

C-A_99

Post by C-A_99 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:49 pm

The viscosity has an effect on range, but I'm not sure if its positive or negative. I'm thinking a more viscous liquid should be able to achieve further ranges due to better lamination, but am worried that flow may be constricted.