Lada Artillery Advice

Build a homemade water gun or water balloon launcher and tell us about it.
NivaWaterTurret

Lada Artillery Advice

Post by NivaWaterTurret » Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:05 am

Hi,

I'm looking for some advice about mounting a really big water gun on my car. I've never built a water gun before but this site seems to have a lot of good stuff.

Here is my situation:

My car is a Lada Niva which is great fun for tearing around the dunes near where I live. After many hours of work, I've hooked up an air compressor to run directly from the engine. This compressor gives enough power to take a 4WD tire from 10 psi to 40 psi in about 20 seconds. The system also has a pressure release valve set to 100 psi but that can be changed.

What I want to do, is mount a gun on my roof cage, to be powered by the compressor and operated by someone standing on the back bumper. Ideally, the gun would be hooked up to a 20-40L tank of water in the car.

So here's the outline of what I need a design for:

1, Huge water tank
2, Permanently connected to an air compressor
3, Big results

So far I have a fairly primitive idea which may not even work but I'm interested in comments from any experts:

The idea is a 20L barrel with two tubes (50mm long, 10mm diameter) coming out of the side (one at the top and one at the bottom). To the one at the top I connect my compressor and to the bottom I connect a hose. The hose from the bottom has a tap of some sort to let the water at my victim once the pressure is up. The tank is filled with water via a screw-lid.

Any ideas/comments either similar or completely different would be welcome.

I also promise to give updates when I build the thing.

Ash

Spinner

Post by Spinner » Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:48 am

Welcome to SSCentral!

I'm hardly the best person to give advice on homemade building, but I'd have thought a simple Constant Air Pressure system would be what you want (I don't think I've quite grasped your current idea).