xxp 175 valve problem and fix

Repairs to water guns. Please put repair topics in this forum so that people do not have to sort through so many topics when looking for a repair. If a fix is included in the topic, please add (Fixed) before the topic title to indicate so.
Alg

Post by Alg » Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:07 pm

Hi, I am a newbie here.

just thought I would share my fix for a broken valve on an XXP 175

a while ago my xxp 175 stopped working, water would just pour out of the pumping column. :(

after opening the gun up I realised it was the valve at the end of the pump that was broken.

the rubber bit of the valve had come loose. I tried with no success to get this valve fixed however I was unable to do so.

after giving up for a bit I had an idea. I took apart a cheap water pistol, the non pressurised kind that cost about £1. this had a simple ball baring valve in its pump.

I cut my XXP 175's pump away from the gun half way along its tubing to the rest of the gun. using some plastic tubing which was big enougth to fit the original tubing tightly and epoxy glue I solved the problem.

I used the large tubing to connect between the original stuff and the new valve (with lots of glue for good measure), and connected the other end to the original tubing left on the pump, put the gun back together and it worked.

I belive this valve actually worked better than the original

apologies if this fix has been posted before

Hunt_and_Annoy

Post by Hunt_and_Annoy » Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:22 pm

I've never seen this topic posted before, but I'm a newb to :( . It was good if not a bit difficult to understand, and can you include photos?

Alg

Post by Alg » Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:38 pm

Originally posted by hunter@Mar 10 2005, 02:22 PM
I've never seen this topic posted before, but I'm a newb to :( . It was good if not a bit difficult to understand, and can you include photos?
[snapback]23015[/snapback]