a little unrelated topic, but seek help from u guys

Build a homemade water gun or water balloon launcher and tell us about it.
pk_volt123

a little unrelated topic, but seek help from u guys

Post by pk_volt123 » Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:46 am

Hi everyone. I'm not really a super soaker fan or anything, but I wanted to ask you guys for some help.

Firstly, I'm a robotics student at BCIT, and we've stumbled over a big problem with our final project.

Our goal was lto fill up 32 acrylic tubes with hydraulic oil, and then generate a combination of bubbles from teh bottom of each tube using air to form text letters or whatever.

The biggest problem is that if we don't keep generating bubbles, oil will leak down the bottom tube where we supply air, so we need some kind of check valve. Surely there are check valves out there, but they cost too much (15 bucks each). I was wondering if you guys knew any cheaper home-made or off the shelf components you can buy to fix this leakage problem

thanks guys!

here is a few pictures of teh adapter

the white quick connect will be where teh 2 meter long 1/2" acrylic tube will connect to
the other quick connect tube is the plastic hose for air to go into
Last edited by pk_volt123 on Sun Mar 26, 2006 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

joannaardway

Post by joannaardway » Fri Mar 24, 2006 4:07 pm

I'm having trouble visualising exactly what you mean.

Living within the UK, I don't know much about US components, but my belief is that there are unlikely to be any cheaper options that would be effective.

I'm not sure that check valves are what you need though.

I have a suggestion and a question.

If sufficent pressure were constantly applied to the feed, such that it matched the force of the oil down it, would that work?

The question is; Why not have the air feed at the top of the chambers? (Probably some obvious reason, but I can't see it at the moment)