Help with an unconventional water gun design

Build a homemade water gun or water balloon launcher and tell us about it.
Egg

Help with an unconventional water gun design

Post by Egg » Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:46 pm

Hi guys. I'm looking for a water gun with a few particular and unique qualities, and judging from the garbage I've seen in stores for the past 5-10 years, I'm resigned to the fact that it will need to be a homemade design.

I'm new to building water guns, but not new to building pressurized devices with PVC. I've built a few potato guns in the past with good success (combustion models).

Anyhow, the qualities I'm looking for are a bit unconventional, as this gun isn't to be used in water fights. Because of this, I doubt any suitable designs are out on the net. The features I'm looking for are as follows:

- small overall design (think pistol-size, up to maybe SS-30 size)

- powerful to very powerful blast

- fairly accurate

- small amount of water dispersed with each shot (less than 4 ounces)

- safe design (i.e., not going to blow apart)

- ability to charge gun using some sort of electronic air pump (tire pump for instance)

So basically, I'm looking for a 1 or 2 shot wonder, ideally pistol-sized, with a very brief and powerful blast. I'm not completely opposed to using a hand-pump, but for the sake of simplicity and maintaining a small overall design, it would be much preferred if I could use something like an electronic tire pump (I have one with a built-in pressure gauge). This is basically to be a stealth model.

Before anyone gets worried, know that I'm 26 years old, and not some irresponsible kid who's going to intentionally injure somebody. Even if an accident were to somehow occur, I would take full responsibility.

So, I'm looking for any help, opinions, insights, or general building wisdom that can be given.

Silence

Post by Silence » Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:54 pm