Need help: can we make a suction device out of a water gun?

General water gun discussion.
ewright

Need help: can we make a suction device out of a water gun?

Post by ewright » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:14 am

Hey everyone,

I was hoping that you could help me on a small problem I am trying to solve. I am a doctor working in southeastern Uganda and the regional hospital here doesn't have any good machines available for medical suction. We cant use anything that requires electricity because the power is intermittent, so I got to thinking about the super soakers that I played with and how they seem like relatively inexpensive and readily available air pressurization devices. The question I have is: can I buy a water gun off the shelf and then make some quick and simple modifications to make it into a vacuum generating device rather than a pressure generating device. I was hoping that it might be as straightforward as reworking how the valves are connected, but since you guys are the experts at this sort of thing I figured I would seek your advice and guidance first. Any help you can offer would be appreciated. Thanks!

ernie :)

isoaker_com

Re: Need help: can we make a suction device out of a water gun?

Post by isoaker_com » Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:39 pm

For many water blasters, you wouldn't need to really make any modification to the water blaster, itself. Rather, you'd need to hook up tubing securely to the reservoir and/or reservoir intake. The main problem I foresee is that I'm not sure how much vacuum power you're hoping for. Not sure how much negative pressure you can generate with a typical blaster's pump. As well, the seals on typical stock water blasters aren't really designed for prolonged exposure to negative pressures... might work at first, but once the seals give up, repairs may not be simple.

You may be better off making a simple, but more durable homemade pump.

:cool:
:: Leave NO one dry! :: iSoaker.com / iSoaker.net ::

Silence