I want to build an APH...

Build a homemade water gun or water balloon launcher and tell us about it.
mackiwi

Post by mackiwi » Tue May 31, 2005 6:35 am

Hi everybody, I am wanting to build an APH pretty much identical to the one in Doom's article. A couple of things I wanted to clear up first...seeing as it's air pressure, is stream dropoff a big problem in this design? Also, if I make the PC's the same size as the original design how many pumps is recommended to stay safe (I.e before I damage the gun or something like that). And finally, as water is coming in from the backpack, is there any pump lag as water is sucked in all the way from the backpack to the PC? I'm really looking forward to giving this a shot as I've had no previous experience with PVC piping and I thought it would be a good place to start. Hopefully I can find all the parts I need!
Thanks in advance for any advice.

SSCBen

Post by SSCBen » Tue May 31, 2005 10:16 am

Stream drop-off exists, of course.

You'll know when you've pumped this water gun enough. The PVC can take far more pressure than your average Super Soaker water gun. The pump will get considerable harder to pump, and that is where you should stop to prevent dangerous pressures.

As for "pump lag", I suppose that exists to a certain extent. You have to make sure the backpack and water gun are correctly siphoning and everything is sealed for it to work best.

mackiwi

Post by mackiwi » Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:31 am

Thanks, doom...I was thinking though, I have an old now-broken CPS 2700 which I could salvage the PC from, do you think if I made the ID 1/2" I would be able to use the 2700's PC in the APH (or CPH, in this case) and do a heavy K-mod to it? I'd really like to have a constant pressure gun but don't think I am experienced enough to begin playing around with latex rubber tubing yet.

Spinner

Post by Spinner » Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:37 am