What's the most efficient way to create pressure..

Threads about how water guns work and other miscellaneous water gun technology threads.
enforcerxunion

What's the most efficient way to create pressure..

Post by enforcerxunion » Sun May 14, 2006 2:19 am

hey,
What's the most efficient way to create pressure in a homemade.
In other words what's the efficient way to get water to come out of a homemade creation ? I'm not sure how to create enough pressure in a gun to get it to shoot water out. If i need a pump or something.. where to I attach it and what kind ? You probably already noticed this but i'm new at this.

thnx
'In the end, when it all comes down to it I will win'

DX

Post by DX » Sun May 14, 2006 2:32 am

Pumps and schrader valves are the two most common ways to create pressure. It depends on the type of homemade. The most common homemades use pumps, which are attached between the first and second check valves. Refer to pictures in the APH article in SSCentral's tech section if you are unsure of how to visualize this. You can make either normal or tracked pumps, although I am the only one who bothers to make tracked pumps at the moment [takes more effort, but I prefer them for some reason].

Schrader valves are the other way to pressurize. Bike pumps are used to pump the pressure through them. They are for high pressures typically used in water balloon launchers, but can also be used in water cannons. Only one air pressure homemade type, the APR line, uses schrader valves and pumps at this time.

Consider this: Pumps are faster, but schrader valves/bike pumps can build up more pressure. It's all up to you. That's the great thing about homemades: you can make all the choices.
Mess With the Best, Get Soaked Like the Rest!

2004 Red Sox - World Series Champions
2007 Red Sox - World Series Champions!

Silence

Post by Silence » Sun May 14, 2006 4:15 am